Indian states ratifying GST

Tue 23rd Aug 2016

Dehli is one of the early states to review and ratify the new Goods & Services Tax legislation.

The constitutional amendment Bill was passed by the Parliament earlier this month, and must now be passed by 15 of more states. To date, six have approved it, including Gujarat, Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Chattisgarh. Delhi should be next, and is set to receive a boost in tax take.

GST will replace a range of indirect taxes, including: VAT, CENVAT, luxury taxes on hotels; Professional Tax, Service Tax, Entry Tax and levies.